The Wonder of Planets

**Please note: This ipcvision page has been designed to be viewed with a black background**
Planets' size to scale, courtesy NASA -click for orbits and relative distances
Planets' Size to Scale (courtesy NASA)
Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto.

"Wisdom and spirit of the Universe:
Thou Soul that art the Eternity of thought !
And giv'st to forms and images a breath
And everlasting motion; not in vain,
By day or starlight, thus from my first dawn
Of childhood didst thou intertwine for me
The passions which build up our human soul."

William Wordsworth

Return to the top of IPCVision Homepage


A planet is a body in orbit around a star. In our Solar System, the name Planet has traditionally been confined to the nine major bodies shown in the picture above. Moons and smaller bodies are referred to as Minor Planets.

The size below which a planet becomes a mere "asteroid" has been somewhat arbitrary, and recent discussion has determined, with significant objections, that Pluto be downgraded to Dwarf Planet status.

A planet does not give off its own light, this means it can exist up to a size of around one twentieth the mass of our sun - beyond that, gravitational forces produce such compression and associated heat that nuclear fusion is triggered and a star begins to develop.

Click on links below to investigate.....


The Planets:

  • Mercury:
  • Other Planet Pages to be time allows!...

Links to other Sites:

click here to return to Top of this Page ------ click here to return to Previous Page ------ click here to return to Contents list on IPCVision Home Page ------ click here to send me an E-Mail

- Please E-Mail any comments -
straight coloured line
< Site design by IPCVision; all non-acknowledged material © of IPCVision; All Rights Reserved >
** Page last updated Nov'07 **